faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

What to name 2016?

I’ve prayed about naming my year off and on for a few months, but haven’t felt led in any particular direction. It’s as if God is being silent on the subject.

Speaking of silence – my house is anything but!!
My kids NEVER. STOP. TALKING.

The constant questions.
The bickering.
The “momma” – “momma” – “momma” – “mom”  – “mommy” – “momma”………
The laughing.
The stories.
The jokes.
The singing.
The running.
The dancing.
The jumping.
The yelling.
The clapping.

It’s not all bad, it’s mostly good.

It’s just loud. And constant.
It seems chaotic all the time.
I can’t think because they want my attention – ALL – THE – TIME.

If they would just be silent. And listen. And obey…

OUCH. Did that sentence step on your toes at all? No? Just mine?
Ok. Let’s run down this rabbit trail…

I wonder how many times my Father hears my constant questions. My bickering, My “me, me, me, me, me”, my laughing, my stories, my jokes, my singing. How often am I running, dancing, jumping, yelling, or clapping when I need to be still. To be silent. To listen. To obey? It’s not all bad. It’s mostly good. But it’s loud. And it’s constant. It leads to chaos, and I can’t think because my brain is going ALL – THE – TIME.

My prayers are hurried because I’m in a rush and I’m just plain tired. I don’t hear God speak – not because He is silent, but because I am not.

I don’t stop long enough to be silent… to listen… to obey.

Silence2016edited

2016  will be my year of SILENCE. To meditate in and on God’s word. To be still, and hear what He has to say.

“When Jesus woke up, he rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Silence! Be still!” Suddenly the wind stopped, and there was a great calm.” – Mark 4:39 NLT

Maybe I am like the wind, in need of being rebuked. I need to be silent. To be still. Listen to the voice of my Creator.
Then, THEN, I will find my peace, my calm.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “What to name 2016?

  1. Oh, friend. I cried when reading this. I love this. My favorite: “I don’t hear God speak – not because He is silent, but because I am not.” So good. Thank you! Hugs/love. Miss you. ♥

  2. (I think I posted another comment via phone earlier. Just don’t approve that one or this one. LOVE YOU!)

  3. (But approve the one, if you want, starting with “Oh, friend.” What are you gonna do with me?)

  4. This is wonderful, honey!

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

