faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

I know where my help comes from…

When thinking about this post, I had several songs come to my mind…
“I am weak but thou art strong…”
“Our God is greater, Our God is stronger….”
“If you see me on my knees, it’s not because I’m weak – I’m getting stronger…”
“Jesus, He loves me. He loves me. He is for me…”

If you are family or friends, and you follow me on facebook, you may have seen that I’ve been “sharing” things about weakness, and prayers for homeschool families (moms).

It may seem like I am mopey, and maybe I am. I get this way this time of year, every year. Or at least for the past 12 years. This makes number 13.

My husband returned to work this week. He is a teacher, so he has been home all summer. I get really spoiled during the summer. You see, my husband is my best friend. He is more than my lover, my provider, my partner. He is my friend. My very best friend. We were friends before we even started dating, and that has carried into our marriage. Yes, I’ve read the blogs that say your husband shouldn’t be your best friend… and I just have to disagree, and move on. Anyway, I digress…

My husband returned to work this week, and we started our homeschool year this week as well. Yeah – What was I thinking? School is actually going very well. I’m really excited about it this year. I’m excited about our choices for curriculum. (Another blog for another day…) My daughter, on the other hand…. Not so much. She really likes daddy being home too. And she would much rather play, than do school. Can’t say I blame her. I’d rather play than clean house – can I get an amen?

So even though I’ve had to put on my teacher hat this week, I’ve still been mopey. Blah. Bummed. So what do I do to combat these feelings? I turn to the Word of God. I’ve been studying the Psalms of Ascents with my weekly Bible study group over the summer, plus there is a song with this verse in it – and that is how I memorize scripture, through song – so it should be no surprise that this verse popped into my mind this week as I was feeling blue.

I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lordwho made heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:1-2 ESV)

I also shared this verse on facebook: “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.” Isaiah 40:29

We all have emotions we have to deal with. Fear. Anxiety. Love. Hate. Joy. Discontentment. Blah… But trust me when I say, I know where my help comes from. Do you?

Thank You, Lord, that in my weakness, You are made strong. When I struggle through this life, I can life my eyes to You, and call upon Your name for help. We are not promised an easy life, but we are promised that we do not have to go through life alone. When I get mopey, help me remember my blessings and focus on things that bring me joy. Being a SAHM is hard, but I thank You that You knew exactly what I needed and gave me a wonderful husband and friend who encourages me and is more than willing to help me. I am not alone. Thank you for my children, who are wild, and fun. Who are loud, and messy, but bring me great joy. Thank you for my husbands career. He is using the gifts and talents you created him with, for the purpose you created him for. He loves his job, and it is my prayer that he will be used for your glory where you have placed him. Please forgive me for selfishly wishing he could just stay home with me and the kids all the time. I know you have a purpose for him, and I pray that he blesses others, just as he is a blessing to our little family. Thank you for calling me to be a homeschool mom. It’s hard. It’s not always fun. There are days I want to quit. But I trust You. You called me to do this, and you will never leave me. You will equip and strengthen me. I love you, Lord. Thank you for being my help.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I know where my help comes from…

  1. Oh, Amanda (behind on e-mail, so just getting to this), Pastor Todd just finished a series on Judges…our discipleship pastor said it was literally the first time he ever saw a pastor do that, but anyway. In one of the early messages…I think the message about Gideon, he went so far as to say that not only is weakness good, in that it allows God’s strength to shine, it is REQUIRED, because if there was one shred of anything we could do about it, God would not get 100% of the glory. On my weakest day, I literally wrote in my journal about how I was weak, but then that meant I was in the perfect spot for God to do something only He could do, and Amanda, He did! He worked something out that I’d been trying to work out since 1991, and I didn’t do one thing to make it happen. He then worked something out I’ve dreamed of since I was 5, but couldn’t seem to make happen, either. On the day that I literally had nothing…I was that weak. So, all that to say, I really love this post. Thanks for posting. HUGS.

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

