faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Speaking of Scripture…

Speaking of scripture…

My verse for 2015 is James 1:22 (NIV) – “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.” (Emphasis mine.)

I thought this was fitting my year “Get Busy”.

I also love this verse because it is so true! As a believer of the Bible, and a follower of Christ, my husband and I strive to use the Word of God as our hand book for life. If we (or our children) have questions (about anything) we first pray, and go and see what scripture says, then if we can’t find a clear answer, we seek wisdom from our pastor, church elders and leaders, our family or friends.

I’ve discovered over the years that the Bible actually has a lot to say about most of the major topics in life. (Confession: I have never read the entire Bible.)

My role as a woman? I am to work, help provide for my family, respect and help my husband, take care of my children, not be lazy, fear the Lord. (See Proverbs 31 – and no, I do not think I have to strive for perfection, and try to be a “Proverbs 31” woman, but I do think it offers great guidelines, especially in my quest to “get busy” this year.)

My role as a wife? I am to be my husbands helper. (See Genesis 2:18) I am to respect my husband. (See Ephesians 5:33)

Romance? Read Song of Solomon!

My role as a mother? Teach my children to Love the LORD!! (See Deuteronomy 6:4-7) Teach them to obey their parents (see Ephesians 6).

Salvation and eternal life? Believe in Jesus! (See John 3:16)

Empty nest? Teach the younger women how to live. (See Titus 2:3-5)

Seeking wisdom? Read through the Proverbs! There are 31 chapters, a great goal is to read one chapter a day each month!

Need comfort? Scroll through the Psalms. May I suggest Psalm 19, 23, 27, 136, 139

There are many more verses and topics I could cover here. But I am going to stop for now. My point is this: In 2015 I will “Get Busy”. I will conquer my battle with laziness. I will seek God’s will for my life, and ask Him to make my will the same as His. I will not just study His word, I will do what it says. (James 1:22!) If I have questions, I will turn to the Bible first, before I seek the opinion of man.

I think the lyrics to one of our favorite Go Fish Guys songs says it pretty well:

“How did life begin?  It’s in there
It’s in the book – huh!
How will the world end?  Guess what? That’s in there too
It’s in the book – huh!
Any burning question rolling around in your mind
It’s in the book – huh!
It’s all in here to find

The B-I-B-L-E,
yes that’s the book for me
I stand alone on the Word of God
The B-I-B-L-E”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Speaking of Scripture…

  1. Just this morning, before reading this, I prayed Colossians 1:9-12 foe our 7, including you, my friend. That means that I asked God that you would be filled with the knowledge of His will. ❤️

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

