faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

I did not fail…

I did not fail, and neither did you, my friend!!

Last year I attempted my first “scripture memory challenge”. I had such high and lofty goals. Visions of weekly google hangouts with my partner as we perfectly recited God’s word to each other. Storing God’s word in my heart. Setting a good example for my children. Encouraging them to memorize verses as well, or along with mommy, since I would be reciting these verses morning, noon, and night. My husband memorizing along side me…

Yeah… NONE of that happened. I lasted about a month, then got behind, then eventually gave up.

That DOES NOT make me a failure. It just  wasn’t my season for that particular project. God  still spoke to me in mighty ways. He still intended for me to learn A LOT from the book of Romans, just in a different way than I expected. My pastor spent the year teaching through the book of Romans. My Bible is COVERED in notes!! My girlfriends and I went through Chip Ingram’s R12 series. Yes, I was meant to learn from Romans in 2014, I just wasn’t meant to memorize it. And that is OK.

I spent a lot of time thinking about if I wanted to attempt scripture memory again this year. I’m still just as busy as I was last year, perhaps even more so. However, by the grace of God, I am not the same person I was at this time last year. I’ve grown. I’ve matured. I am more confident. God has given me a vision for my role as wife, mother, home maker.

I spent some time praying about this, and it was while driving one day, listening to one of our Seeds Family Worship cd’s with my kids that my answer came to me. MUSIC. Yes!!! Why had I not thought of this before? I’ve always done well memorizing songs – my husband lovingly jokes that I am a walking iPod shuffle 😉

So, I decided that I would pick several verses from our Seeds collection and use their songs to intentionally memorize scripture this year.

Enter my sweet friend Stephanie, who had discovered Beth Moore’s Living Proof Ministries Siesta Scripture Memory Team project. Where you get to pick 24 verses to memorize over the year. You make your own notebook, and at the end of the year you use your notebook as your ticket into a celebration in Houston. Memorize scripture with my girlfriends and take a road trip to Houston in the new year? Um, yeah! Count me in!

I love this approach, because I get to still use my idea of using music to help me memorize scripture, and I get to participate with my girlfriends, AND hopefully we will take a road trip together to celebrate!

If you are interested in learning more about the Siesta Scripture Memory Team Challenge, you can read about it on my friend Stephanie’s blog (click here) – she does an excellent job of explaining how it works, and links to all of Beth Moore’s appropriate sites to help you get going.

If you are interested in learning more about Seeds Family Worship you can CLICK HERE. (No, I am not affiliated with them in any way. We are just a family that enjoys filling our car, home, and heart with the word of God and use their cd’s and DVD as a way to do just that.) They also have scripture memory cards available in the resource section of their website – which made making my notebook very easy!

So there you have it. This is my plan for 2015, pray for me.

Are you memorizing scripture in this new year? Tell me about it in a comment, and I’ll pray for you, too!

Out with 2014

Out with 2014

Hello 2015

Hello 2015

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I did not fail…

  1. I love this, Amanda! (Pray for me…) 👈 Those words went right along with my study this morning! It was all about intercessory prayer. I am going to pray for our 7. And thanks for the reminder about Seeds! Thank you for this post, friend. Yay! I love God, don’t you? (Of course you do. It shows.)

    (Your post invoked so many thoughts, but too many words and not enough time.)

  2. And P.S. Have you ever used Steve Green’s Hide ’em in Your Heart songs? They are beautiful and helpful, enven for me as an adult. Rene’ told me about them years ago, and we used them on car trips. My children would remember scriptures at key times from them. And honestly, I even played them when it was just me, and they encouraged me. I think there’s a Volume 1 and 2.

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

