faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Reminders from Strangers

Dear sweet woman observing us on the bread aisle at Wal-Mart,

You don’t know this, but on most days I am worn. Drained of energy. Stressed over the bills, or budget, or the shape of my house. Laundry in piles. Dishes stacked high. Toys… Oh the toys!!! They have taken over our home! I feel discouraged and like a failure most of the time. Like when I realize that I don’t remember the last time I swept or mopped. When the kids do not obey. When I realize we haven’t done “school” in more days than I care to share…

This day though, was a good one. We needed more bread, because my children refuse to eat anything except peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I don’t enjoy feeding them this, but I have decided that they will learn to eat the food I prepare someday. As long as they get some fruit and vegetables in with their PB&J, that is not a battle I am willing to fight. The wild boy was sitting in the cart laughing and being silly. The sweet girl was keeping her hand on the cart and staying close by. They were singing, and laughing. No one was screaming or begging for junk food. No tears could be seen. Yes this was a good day.

I was playing along with my kids. Laughing and singing with them. I wasn’t thinking about what I was doing with them. It just comes natural. Then I began to realize that you were watching us. Yes, I saw you. I could see the laughter in your eyes and your smile. I tried to ignore you. I knew that if I paid attention to you, I would find myself preforming for you – making sure I looked like a “good and fun” mom – instead of focusing on my kids and enjoying them “just because”. But then, you made eye contact with me, and you said three words to me that took my breath away…
“You are blessed.”

You. Are. Blessed.

I. Am. Blessed.

I am not only blessed on the good days, when my children are behaving, and laughing, and being cute and sweet. I am blessed in the middle of the mess. When my house is in total chaos. When I forget to lay out anything for dinner. When I put clothes on to wash on Tuesday and remember them on Friday. When the bills outweigh the budget. When the dog barks crazily at the stray cat walking down the street. When the kids will not pick up their things. When I feel like a failure or I get discouraged. I – AM – BLESSED.

I am blessed because I am a child of God. I have a Father who loves me in spite of the mess. Who can pick up the mess and make something beautiful out of it. I am blessed because I am chosen. I am loved. I am saved by the blood of Christ and I have the Holy Spirit of God dwelling with in me. I am blessed because I have a man, a wonderful, loving husband, who puts up with my mess and loves me anyway. I am blessed because I was chosen to be the mother of two AMAZING children. Kids who bring me great light and joy, and have shown me just a glimpse of what my Father must feel for me. I am blessed because while the budget may get tight, and I feel like we will never have our son paid for, we still have an abundance. I am blessed because there is always food to eat. There are more than enough clothes in the closet. There is a wonderful roof over our heads. And yes… there are toys, and books, and games… EVERYWHERE 😉 I am blessed with a wonderful mom and dad, who have always loved me, and encouraged me. I am blessed with more family than I can name. Some are family by blood, some are family by choice and I am blessed. I am blessed because I am a part of a wonderful body of believer who gather together to encourage one another and study the Word of God together. I am blessed because I have a voice to read to my kids… 50 books a day! I am blessed with a sweet, lazy dog that loves to bark at the wind. I am blessed with health.
I am blessed. I am blessed. I am blessed.

All these things could fade away, and I would still be blessed because I would still have the One who will never leave me or forsake me. I will always have my God, and I am blessed.

So, thank you sweet stranger for the reminder. Just three little words, and you smiled and walked away. But it was the exact three words I needed to hear.

YOU. ARE. BLESSED.

Thank You God, for reminders from strangers. There are no chance encounters. You planned to have that woman speak life to me on that day. A day that was good, and I didn’t even realize I needed the encouragement. But You, oh Lord, You know my heart. You know exactly what I need, and when I need it, and You always provide. Thank You Father. Indeed, I am blessed.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

