faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

For my girl

So, Olivia has been watching me type out Luke’s story, and she ask “What about me?” So I went and logged into my “myspace” account – first time in 3 years! And copied her story to paste for her here.

So, here you go, sweet girl. This is for you.

(Originally posted on my myspace page November 17, 2008)

Don’t worry, there aren’t going to be any gory details…

Cody and I got up at 3:45 am November 5th, 2008 to get ready to go to Tyler. Normally we aren’t morning people, and Cody is best friends with the snooze button on the alarm clock, but this day we both popped right out of bed. The drive to Tyler didn’t seem to take that long either, we talked about how things were changing, and what we thought our little girl would look like, weigh, how long she would be, how long we thought labor and delivery would take… we were wrong about a lot of these things. LOL!

Ready for to meet O!

Ready for to meet O!

First, we thought it would take forever… It didn’t. We got to the hospital at 6, and got checked in, then sent up to the l/d room. My nurses were AWESOME, shout out to Nancy and Susan!! Ok, first off, I had to get into that extremely ugly gown, and answer a million questions. They wouldn’t let Cody stay in there while I answered the questions, so he went to get our bags and stuff. (Stupid HIPPA – I have nothing to hide, anyway…) Then they started my pictocin at 7:43. I should probably step in here and say that I was already dilated to a 3, and had been having contractions off and on for over a week. They just wouldn’t get close  enough to go to the hospital on our own. My dr. came in to check on me around 8:30, and broke my water. I know I said no gory details… so I’m just going to say that that was gross.

The pictocin was definitely working, my contractions were 2-3 minutes apart and were strong. Not unbearable, but strong. Especially in my back… gotta love back labor – NOT! I just kept breathing through them. I told my mom and Cody that if it didn’t hurt my back so bad that I could probably handle it with  no meds. This was still early in the game though, LOL! Gotta love my optimism!!

Around 9:30 they came to check me again, and I was at a 4. They told me I could have my epidural now, or stadol if I wanted it, that would help take the edge off… so I said sure, they aren’t that bad yet, no reason to get the epidural any earlier than I have to… (have I told you yet that I was terrified of getting the epidural? I knew I wanted it, but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t scared… I don’t like things touching my back…) So they hooked up the stadol to my IV, and that is when things started kicking it up a notch! Within minutes, my contractions were going off of the chart, and were… let’s say intense. LOL! So by about 10:15 I decided that wasn’t fun, and asked for my epidural. (I have no problem admitting that I don’t handle pain well…. Well, I take that back, I truly believe if it hadn’t hurt my back so bad, that I could have gone with out the epidural… at least for the contractions.) The nurse says that they have called the anaesthesiologist  (yeah, I’m sure I butchered that word!) and that she will be there shortly.

Well, what do you know, but an “emergency” came up, so she had to take care of that first. So let’s fast forward to 11:15 when she shows up, and my contractions are a minute apart. They ask my mom and Cody to step out and then they get things started. Let me say that contractions are not fun (Radawna, that is for you!), but add to that, contractions that are coming every minute, lasting for about a minute, and they are having issues getting a needle in you back…. while you are having back labor… again, not unbearable… but most certainly not fun. LOL!

So as I was saying, she is having a hard time getting that needle in my back, and I am having contractions every minute. She finally gets that wonderful medicine pumping into my system, and with in minutes the world is a much better place. Now instead of extreme pain (I have already admitted once that I don’t have a high pain tolerance) I’m just feeling pressure.  And not just any pressure… but it feels like I need to go to the restroom. Hmmm.

So I tell my wonderful nurse, Nancy this, and she gets excited. So they check me again and low and behold I’m at a 9! No flipping wonder those contractions were so intense! It’s almost show time! So let’s recap, in an hour and a half, I went from a 4 to a 9, Olivia isn’t playing around.  So my dr. comes to check me again, and while she is there I progress to a 10, so she says I can start pushing. By now it is almost 12:00 pm. The dr. leaves, and lets the nurses assist me in pushing. So I do about 5 sets of 3 pushes, and they get excited again, and say it’s time to call the dr. Well, my dr. is getting ready for lunch, and my nurse, Nancy, tells her she really doesn’t think she has time to eat, she may want to hurry over. So a few minutes later the dr. comes back, 2 sets of 3 pushes later, at 12:39 pm Olivia makes her debut! Weighing in at 7lbs, 5oz. and 19 inches long, with dark brown hair, blue eyes (for now), and a rosy darker-than-me complexion.

Things went very well. God was very good to me, and gave be a quick delivery… I admit, I was expecting the worse. But most importantly, He blessed Cody and I with a beautiful, healthy, baby girl.

Family of 3

Family of 3

Welcome to the world Olivia Jewel!

Four days old, let's go to church!

Four days old, let’s go to church!

Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

