faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

We need friends

You know how everyone is posting those “post card” type pictures on facebook? I saw one the other day that said “Sorry I’ve been a bad friend, I’m too busy being an awesome mom!” or something along those lines. At first, I “liked” it – ha ha, it’s funny. But the more I thought about it, the more it ate at me. It almost made me sick to think about it.

That’s not how it should be at all! I don’t know about you, but I NEED my friends. In fact, with out them, I probably wouldn’t be an awesome mom. 😀

God created us to be relational. He created us to have a relationship with Him. He created us to have friends, and be relational with them. He created Eve for Adam (“It is not good for man to be alone”.) Moses and Joshua. Elijah and Elisha. David and Johnathan. Ruth followed Naomi. Jesus poured into his disciples. Paul mentored Timothy. The Bible has A LOT to say about friendships, and I will get more into that in my next post.

We need friends to mentor us through life. To pull us up when we are drowning. To celebrate life with us. To let us cry on their shoulder. To advise us. To teach us. To love us.

Are you putting effort into your friendships? Or are they being neglected because you are focused on other things? I am not saying to neglect your family. If you know me, you know that family is priority number 2 (right after God). But what is your number 3? Work? Exercise? Me time? All things worthy of our time and attention, but where do your friendships rank? When is the last time you had a meaningful conversation with a friend? Not just a few quick text back and forth. Or keeping up with each other through facebook, twitter, instagram… I’m talking a real connection. Coffee and cake together. A hand written card. A real conversation over the phone.

You can’t be an awesome mom if you don’t take care of yourself. Your friends can help with that. As a mom you NEED some time with the girls. I know I do.

I haven’t been doing a good job of being an intentional friend. But you know what? The buck stops here. I’m going to be intentional. I’m going to pour myself into these relationships. My friends deserve that. They have needs that only a friend can meet. So will you join me in this challenge to be a better friend? I know I can’t be the only one who feels this way. Let’s all step up.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

