faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Small Steps to Make a Change

Healthy Child Healthy World Kit

Healthy Child Healthy World Kit

Why am I so excited to be holding this box? Well, like with all good stories, you need a little back story.

Our family “motto” if you will, comes straight from the Bible. Romans 12:2 “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” I would be willing to say that most Christians are familiar with this verse. But do you know what the rest of the verse says? “Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” It is our goal as a family to live our lives according to God’s will. His “good, pleasing and perfect will.” In Jeremiah 29:11, we read “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” Why would we not want to strive for what God has for us?

Saying all this, I am not trying to say that our family “has it all together” because we most certainly do not. I prefer to think of us as a Beautiful Mess. Just trying to live our lives for the Lord, and allowing him to make something beautiful out of our imperfections.

We, as a family, have decided that we need to break out of the mold most of the world lives in. No more fast paced lifestyle. There are a lot of things we do, and even more we DO NOT do, that baffle a lot of people. Strangers. Friends. Loved Ones. But that is ok. We are doing what is best for this family, what we feel convicted about, and what we feel is God’s will for this family. Just as you do what you feel is best for yours.

I’m going off on a bit of a rabbit trial, but I promise I have some exciting things to share!

My husband and I strive VERY hard to make sure our kids eat healthy. Of course, that means we have to set the example, so it’s not always fun. However, I know it is what is best. My kids have only ate from the chain with the “Mc” food 3 times. (They have had their fair share of nuggets from the “Eat More Chicken” place though… This post is called “small steps” for a reason.) We try to eat mostly at home, so that helps. Also, participating in the “Bountiful Baskets” co-op is a great way to make sure we make wise food choices.

While we are far from perfect, we do try our best to make sure that we have good, healthy food options in our home at all times. When we do eat out, we try to make good choices there as well. It helps that my husband has to eat gluten-free. (Odd saying that, but it does make our choices limited.)

Anyway, enough of that. When we first started trying for a baby, we knew right away that we wanted to change our way of eating, so that our kids would not grow up on fast-f00d, lots of sugar, and high-processed junk. Things that we (my precious and I) struggle with being “addicted” to. “Sugar influences the same “feel-good” brain chemicals — including serotonin and dopamine — as illicit drugs.” (according to webmd) Who wants to start their kids on a path like that? I’m sure no one intends to. It just happens. We live in a fast paced world. Eating on the run is a way of life for most people. But not this family.

So, as we researched food, particularly baby and toddler food, we came across a lot of interesting articles and studies linking foods (specifically chemicals in pesticides, herbicides and other chemical contaminants found not just in food, but in things we use EVERYDAY) to all kinds of diseases and disorders (Lots of great information HERE ). Including Thrombocytopenia. (Find out why that was important to me HERE)

In doing our home work, I went into a bit of freak out mode. But then I realized, I could not change everything I wanted to change overnight. But we could make small changes. Just a few here and there, and they would add up. So we have done that. We eat mostly whole foods. We limit processed junk. We buy organic when we can, when we can’t we wash our produce like crazy! I am learning to make more things from scratch (but I’m still more of a semi-homemade girl). We buy natural cleaners, and are trying to make our own….

THIS, my friends is what this post is truly about. So, as I said, in doing research I came across lots of websites, articles, blogs…. that were full of great information. One that I fell in love with is called Healthy Child Healthy World – a non-profit organization founded by Nancy and James Chuda, after their daughter, Colette, was diagnosed, and died of a form of cancer that is linked to parental pesticide use before pregnancy. They turned their grief into action and started an organization that’s mission is to:

  • Expand awareness of unnecessary toxic risks to children’s health;
  • Encourage easy actions and responsible lifestyle choices;
  • Advocate for corporate policies and government legislation that protect children from environmental health risks; and,
  • Engage communities to take collective actions to create a healthier world.
Read more HERE and HERE
Now that you know the back story, let the fun begin!!
Heathy Child Healthy World has a program in place to help educate and inform people about alternative to things we use in everyday life. From food, to house hold cleaners, to clothes, to toys…. They have kits ready to go so that you can host a Healthy Child Party! And that my dear friends, is what I am holding in my hands in the picture above.
In the next month, I will be hosting a home party where you don’t have to buy anything. Just come and learn about an issue that is close to my heart. Together we will learn how to take small steps to make better, healthier changes for our families. We will sample great products, have giveaways, receive coupons, and enjoy some make and takes!
My "healthy child" looking through the goodies in our kit!

My “healthy child” looking through the goodies in our kit!

All the goodies to use, sample, and give away at my Healthy Child Party!

All the goodies to use, sample, and give away at my Healthy Child Party!

If you are a friend or family member, I hope you will come join in on the fun. If you don’t know who I am, and just stumbled upon this blog, or you live too far, I hope you will check out the links, and get involved, maybe host a Healthy Child Party for yourself.
I know this was long, but thanks for sticking with it. I hope you are inspired to do some research and educate yourself to make some small steps for you and your family. Even small steps can make BIG change!
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Small Steps to Make a Change

  1. Pingback: Mommy’s Club | faithfamilyfriendslove

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

