faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Thank God for the Sun

My husband and I try to live by the following verses from the Bible: Deuteronomy 6:5-9

Deuteronomy 6:5-9 – New King James Version (NKJV)
“5 You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength. “And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”

It is no coincidence that the Greatest Commandment is followed by teach it to your kids.

In fact, this is a major influence in our choice to homeschool. It is our job to “train up our children in the way they should go” (Proverbs 22:6). It is our responsibility to teach our children to love the Lord with all their heart, with all their mind, with all their soul, and with all their strength. What better opportunity to do that than in our everyday life? That includes their education.

This is how My Precious and I have always felt, even before we had children. So imagine my excitement when I began reading a book, given to us by some dear friends when we were pregnant with The Boy, that basically said the exact same thing with in the first few pages of the book! I was so excited, I told My Precious – “this book says exactly what we have been thinking and didn’t know how to put into words!”

The book is called “Visionary Parenting – capture a God-sized vision for your family” by Dr. Rob Rienow and chapter one really seized my heart. It really was exactly what had been on my heart, I just didn’t know exactly how to put it into words, and this book does so beautifully.

With that being said, we have been planting seeds of God’s love, grace, goodness, mercy, justice… into our kids hearts and minds since they were in the womb.

When we wake up, we sing songs of praise to our God. When we sit at home we read our Bible, act out Bible stories, talk about what God had done for us, sing more songs. When we are in the car we continue to sing praises to our King, we pray, we take advantage of learning opportunities. At night we read the Bible again, we pray, we thank God for all is had done, and all He will do… We take Deuteronomy 6:7 to heart. (I wish I could say that we did this all day everyday, but that would be a lie. We just do the best we can, and pray that God will take our imperfections and make something beautiful.)

Today, I got the opportunity to see some of the fruit of our labor. I got to see my great God answer a simple prayer, from a pure heart.

We were getting ready to leave to go to our Wednesday morning Bible study, and the sky was very overcast. The sun was nowhere to be found. “Where is the sun?” asked my sweet O. “It is there” I told her, “we just cannot see it right now.” – “But I want to see the sun!” – Ah, the determination of a three year old…

“Well, pray and ask God if He will let the sun shine today” I told her. So she did – “Dear God, I like the sun and want to see it. Amen.”

As we drove, I took the opportunity to talk to her about how sometimes God answers our prayers with a yes, and sometimes He has to say no. (After all, for all I knew it could start storming later, and we wouldn’t see the sun all day!) I explained to her that God was our Father, and just like sometimes her daddy and I had to tell her no, it wasn’t because we didn’t love her, it was because we knew it wouldn’t be the best thing for her. Like when she wants a lot of candy and we say no. We say no because we know that too much candy would make her sick. She doesn’t understand that, but her dad and I do. Then I told her that God is just like that. Some times we ask for things and He has to say no, or not now, and He says that because He knows what is best for us, even when we don’t understand.

I tried to keep it simple and sweet. I’m sure it still probably went over her head a little, but that is ok. The seeds were planted.

So we go to Bibles study and two hours later, when we came out of the church THE SUN WAS SHINING!

My sweet O! The first thing she said was “Mommy! The sun is shinning! God said YES!”

I just closed my eyes and offered up a brief silent prayer of thanksgiving. “Thank you God, for proving yourself to a sweet three year old, who blindly trust you. Oh, for that faith! Thank you God for the sun!”

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Thank God for the Sun

  1. This may be my favorite post yet! I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again. Thank you for making these posts. They make my day!

  2. I would echo Cody’s thank you. And I got a tear reading this.

    (I’ve tried posting comments before, and had technical difficulties, but I finally figured it out.)

  3. Tanya Norris on said:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

Lea Ann Garfias

when you need the Real Truth!

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

