faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Do something crazy

I hate to run.

I’m not good at it. I guess I missed that day in gym where they teach you how to run. It’s really not a pretty sight to see. If the zombies ever come after me, I’m doomed (or dead, or zombied, or infected… what ever the correct term is for what ever a zombie does to you. Where’s my husband when I need him? LOL!)

However, I do enjoy splashing in puddles, playing in the mud, and trails.

So when I saw a video advertising this thing called a “mud run” (which me in all my non-athletic-laziness had never heard of before…) I looked at my husband and said “I want to do that!”

He looked at me like I was insane and said two things: “Go for it!” and “I’m not doing it with you!” 😀

So I mouthed off on facebook, saying that I wanted to do it – knowing that I never really would. I’m a lazy, overweight, asthmatic, non-athlete, who does NOT run. When low and behold my (also crazy cousin) says – hey, I’ll do it with you, lets sign up!

Um… hello?! Didn’t you know that was me just mouthing?? I wasn’t serious!!

Next thing I know, I’m signed up for the Merrell Down and Dirty Mud Run! Holy Guacamole! How did that happen??

I thought, OK, I’ve got time for a couch to 5K program, I can do this…. Um… Yeah, that didn’t happen. HA!

So race day comes, and you know what? I had a blast! My cousin and I had so much fun together. We laughed, we attempted to run, we made memories, and bonded. Things family should do together. She was great, she kept pace with me (even though I slowed her WAY down), she encouraged me, she forced me to attempt to run (HA!), she was my cheerleader, and I appreciate her more than she will ever know. With out her encouraging me to stretch out of my comfort zone I never would have gone through with it! I never would have signed up. I never would have known that I am capable of doing an obstacle run.

Angie and I before the race!

Me and my #1 Fan!

I kept singing that song from the movie “Gone in 60 Seconds” that says “Let’s get down and dirty, baby!”

We crossed the finish line – therefore we are WINNERS!

My own “medal” 😀

This is my facebook post from that afternoon:

“1. Had a fantastic time today at the mud run with my cousin. 2. My official time was 1hour 22 minutes, not bad since I walked the whole thing. 3. I learned that I have no desire to make running my new hobby 🙂 4. I only skipped 3 obstacles on the trail, all three dealing with upper arm strength, so I’ll work on that for next year. 5. The volunteers stationed at the obstacles were great! Especially when I was at the top of the ladder wall and scared to climb down 🙂 6. My inhaler went missing in the first mud pit. 7. I’m definitely ready to take on the mud run again next year and hope we inspired more of our family to join us in it. It truly was a blast!!”

I have to admit, I’m slightly addicted now. I can’t wait for the next one. In fact, I’m supposed to do one this weekend, but it’s the same day as my 10 year high school reunion, so I’m torn…

I still have no desire to run, but I do love to have fun and do something crazy every once in a while.

That is what this post is all about. I want to encourage you to get out of your comfort zone. If that means getting dirty with some friends then go for it! Or maybe volunteer to teach the preschool Sunday school class at your church! (Yep, another blog for another day, LOL!!) God has great things in store for each of us, but we will never embrace all of His blessings if we stay in our safety net. Trust me. I know. I like safe. I like comfort.

This mud run was just a taste of what I am capable of. Maybe not a lot athletically, but with God, I can face my fears and embrace His blessings.

Phillipians 4:13 (NKJV) – “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

So no fear. Who’s with me?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

