faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Chicken Salad

My husband recently was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. Upon hearing about this, I immediately started researching RA – causes, symptoms, medications, treatments… Soaking up as much information as I could in the few short hours between my husbands dr appointment and when he got home from work.

When he got home from work I looked him straight in the eyes and said “You have to give up gluten”. He of course, is used to my wisdom and insight crazy-randomness, so he just said, “ok show me what you found.”

**Disclaimer: I am not a dr. I just took the time to do some online research, on credible sites, and read about other peoples experiences. I am not claiming this is for everyone, or that it will help everyone in any way. I am not posting links, because I encourage you to do your own research, and talk to your dr about what is best for you.**

After showing him what I found, he agreed to give it a try. So our journey began June 2, 2012.

It hasn’t been that hard of a transition, we almost always eat pretty healthy. Of course, this is coming from the one that is not having to give up gluten. My precious has had a hard time with some things, namely pizza and eating out. Oh, and going to events like birthday parties and weddings…

Breakfast and dinner are not too hard on him. It’s going to be lunch and snacks that get him. But we are learning… And getting creative… Which leads me to the title of today’s blog.

I know you are probably wondering what on earth chicken salad has to do with RA, so let me tell you.

For fathers day we invited my parents over for lunch, well someone slept late and did not get our roast in the slow cooker as early as planned. So as it became obvious that “lunch” really meant “dinner”, I had to do some digging to find something to feed the men folks who by 2:00 were starving. While digging in the pantry I found some canned chicken. I know that my precious HATES chicken salad, so I knew I would have to be creative. I told him and my dad I was making a “chicken dip appetizer”. They were so hungry I probably could have given them dog biscuits and they wouldn’t have noticed. So I quickly mixed up the chicken, water chestnuts, garlic, onion, and a dash of cayenne pepper with some mayo. (I couldn’t get too adventurous because then my precious would recognize it for what it really was.) I served it with gluten free veggie chips and crackers and it was gone with in seconds. My husband even told me several times how much he liked it. Woo hoo!! Sneaky and successful!

Fast forward a few days. We are getting ready to go grocery shopping and I ask if there is anything specific he wants… “How about the stuff to make some more of that chicken dip stuff you made the other day, that was really good.” (Insert snarky, evil laugh from me – in my head of course, I’m not ready to reveal my secret just yet.)

A few more days pass by and we are both looking up recipes, wanting to try some new or different things. He finds one, and says “hey let’s make this tonight”. So I look over the ingredient list: chopped cooked chicken, celery, onions, cream or mayo, slivered almonds, seasoning… Top with cheese and bake. So with laughter in my heart that is what we made for dinner. As we began eating our meal, and he was commenting on how good it was, I finally couldn’t hold it in any longer. I burst out laughing. I then told him he was basically eating baked chicken salad, “oh and honey? That chicken “dip” you like so much? It’s really just a boring chicken salad, too.” He was shocked! But then he laughed about it and now we joke about it as well.

I can’t help but wonder what else I can trick him into liking 😀

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

