faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

When God flips the table…

I’m not a control freak. Not really. I would like to think that I am one of the most laid back people you will ever meet. A “let it roll off like water on the ducks back” kind of person. I try not to be one of those people who gives unsolicited advice. (Even if I really DO know what is best for you, lol!)

Then this past 6 months happened (not to mention THIS WEEK happened…). God has shown me that I really do need to step back sometimes and let Him handle things. A friend of mine and I have always joked that we have a tendency to want to “play Holy Spirit”. That we tend to think we know what is best for people, and may be a little pushy about it. Have you ever fallen into this trap?

I just spent a good hour in prayer about this particular issue last night. It’s like I’m saying “OK, God. I really do trust You. You know what You are doing. But….” Sigh, that has always been one of my biggest pet peeves. “I’m not trying to tell you what to do, but…” – “I’m not trying to mind your business, but….” – I truly HATE when people do that to me! I just want to scream, don’t you realize that by saying “but” that you are doing EXACTLY what you are trying to say that you are not doing??? And here I am, doing that to the Almighty!! GAH!! Why does He put up with me?

Have you ever tried making plans? You would think I would know better by now. In my last blog I spoke of my husband and I trying to plan a family, and having to learn that God’s timing was better than our own. That is just one of many examples that God has taught us to trust in Him and His timing. Obviously, we are slow learners…

It’s like we are building a house of cards. All of our plans (or cards in this case) carefully laid out. Taking such care to place them in the perfect spot. Then God comes up and just flips the table, and all the cards go flying. But in hindsight, I know that where they land, the way they land… is a beautiful masterpiece, that I could never have dreamed up or achieved on my own.

So if I know this, why am I so hard-headed?? God has shown me over, and over again, that He has great plans for me, and my family. So why am I having such a hard time trusting Him… again…

Then “The Voice” posted this on facebook today (remember, God and I just had a nice LONG chat about this last night…) – “Place your trust in the Eternal; rely on Him completely; never depend upon your own ideas and inventions. Give Him the credit for everything you accomplish, and He will smooth out and straighten the road that lies ahead.” Proverbs 3:5-6 (The Voice)

Thanks, God, for the reminder.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Worth The Review

Attempting to focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy.

The Genuine Homeschool Mom

real life with Lea Ann Garfias

Called to Cultivate

Marriage, Motherhood, and More

Teach Them Diligently Blog

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Generations of Virtue

Transforming culture - one family at a time

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

