faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

5 months into the year “discipline”

So, we are almost 5 full months into the year discipline. You want to know what I have learned? That I have a long way to go! That I lack discipline and self control. That the good Lord has a lot to help me with, in my heart.

We are almost 5 full months into our scripture memorization project and you know what? I gave up. I didn’t mean to, it just happened. I let it go, and did not pick it back up.

I adore my recitation partner, she is so patient with me, and hasn’t given up on me. She just keeps encouraging me to start back up. I will, sweet friend, I will.

My weight loss goals are not being met. We are eating healthy ‘real food’ meals… When I cook. I’ve been working out… Sometimes. It could be that I am terrible at menu planning, so when 5 o’clock rolls around and I don’t know what to make for supper we eat out. Mexican food is our favorite. This has to stop. It strains our budget and my waist-line. My husband is training for a 5K, perhaps I will join him in the training and see if that will help.

I’m starting a 21 Day Sugar Detox (TODAY!!) Due to some new medical expenses, my grocery budget may not allow me to follow the recipes to a T, but I can be intentional about what I put in my mouth. Follow the “yes/no” list, and pay attention to ingredients for hidden sugar terms. It’s all about educating ourselves and making informed decisions. You will hear me saying this over and over in my blogs, especially when I talk about food, or other products that we use in our home and on our bodies.

So there it is, the honest truth about how my year is going. How is YOUR year going? Did you name it or set goals? I hope your year is a success. Even if it isn’t going how you wanted, it isn’t too late to start fresh. God is good, and loves us always. He grants us mercy and grace each and every day. Multiple times a day! We need to learn to do the same for our selves. Don’t wallow at your own pity party because you are behind in your goals. Life happens. Things change. Today is a new day. Forget about the failures, and start fresh. Find someone that will offer you encouragement, tell you the ugly truth, and pick you up when you fall. You can do this! I have faith in you! TODAY. NOW. DO IT!

Hebrews 12
I love the part of this verse that says “…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus…”. I need to “lay aside” my sin that “so easily ensnares” me. My lack of discipline. Lack of self control. Laziness. I need to look to Jesus, keep my  eyes on Him. Because, just like Peter, when I take my eyes off of Him, I will sink. I will fail. Jesus is my strength and my salvation. “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13 NKJV) You can too! 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “5 months into the year “discipline”

  1. AMEN! YES, yes, YES! I’m dancing.

Leave a Reply

The Barnabas Agency

Connect. Communicate.

Mommypotamus

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

