faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Well that didn’t take long.

About DISCIPLINE

“Name your year” – they said.

“You’ll be amazed at what God will show you” – they said.

Well, God must have some big plans for me this year, because it sure didn’t take long for me to get my first lesson in discipline. Ouch.

I don’t handle correction well. I am very tender hearted. This was difficult. It was hard. It made me angry. It hurt (emotionally) and made me cry. But it was necessary.

I’m trying to not let the anger take root. I’m trying to take the lesson to heart.

God, help me! Because I want to be angry. I didn’t like the correction. It discouraged me. It made me feel like a failure, and You know I already struggle with that. But IF I can get past my emotions, I CAN see that it was necessary (and ‘maybe’ not meant to be quite as harsh as I took it to be). That I have been failing in this particular area. That I needed a wake up call. If I will stop throwing my pity party long enough I can hear You say “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” (Hebrews 12:11 NIV) – So God, I will praise you for this discipline. I know that you have great plans for me. I just need to stop getting in the way. Help me be trained by this discipline. I want it to produce an harvest of righteousness and peace for me. Help me see the good you have in store through this. Because God, You are in this. And you are good.

Scripture Hebrews 1211

About our scripture memorization project:

I am in week 2 of my scripture memorization project. This is the text I sent to my recitation partner “AAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!! THIS WEEKS VERSE IS GOING TO BE THE END OF ME!!!!”

Week one was easy, my husband was home for the majority of it, so we would quiz each other through out the day. We would go back and forth one word at a time. We would make up raps (don’t ask ask us to preform for you) and we made it fun. Now he is back to work, and we are tired in the evenings. Excuses, I know. But this week is taking a bit more… DISCIPLINE. God obviously had a plan when He laid that word upon my heart.

I do love how God works things out though. Just yesterday at church our pastor started a new sermon series title “Victory” and guess what book we will be studying… ROMANS!

God sees the big picture, friends. We don’t have to know His plans, we just have to trust and follow.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Well that didn’t take long.

  1. You can do it, friend. In my Year of Ready, during the first week of January, my computer crashed and I was not ready. I leaned about ready by not being so.

    😬

  2. Hi Amanda! This is Rene’, Stephanie’s partner in naming our years. Your post made me smile. Have so been there! Keep on keeping on. God has great things in store!

  3. Your blog is awesome…great post…
    Neeky Albert

  4. Hi! Stopping by from Mom Bloggers Club. Great blog!
    Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

The Barnabas Agency

Connect. Communicate.

Mommypotamus

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

