faith. family. friends. love.

sharing thoughts about faith, family, friends, love, and life in general.

Naming my year – 2014

This year I did something special on Black Friday. I went with my dear friend and her sweet mother-in-law (who is also my dear friend) on their annual shopping trip to the Galleria. We had a great time casually browsing through the stores. No lines, no crazies, no mobs… it really was a pleasant experience. We got their shortly after 9:00 a.m., a late start for most BF shoppers, but we didn’t really have an agenda (besides finding the perfect socks, and a trip to the American Girl store).

During lunch, my friend Stephanie, challenged her daughter-in-law and me to seriously pray about naming our year. I told her I had been toying with the idea, and had some words in mind. She told us her story (she does a beautiful job explaining naming your year), and how God had worked in mighty ways through her 2013 – year of Ready. She told us we could do Google hangouts and hold each other accountable for our goals…

BF with my gal pals

Her excitement rubbed off on me. I couldn’t help but feel like this was God continuing to nudge me, as the idea had already been planted in my mind.

I spent much of December in prayer and in searching through the scriptures trying to find something that went along with my word I was thinking of. I had it narrowed down to 2 words. But I really wanted one thing to focus one. After much prayer I have finally made my decision.

2014 – The Year of…

Discipline

Proverbs 23:12 (NASB)
“Apply your heart to discipline
And your ears to words of knowledge.”

I need discipline. I lack self control. I am lazy. I need God to break me free of this.

The Bible says in Proverbs 5:23 (The Voice)
“Because they have no discipline, their spirits die and their bodies will soon follow; because they are immensely foolish, they wander lost and confused.”

There is much I struggle with and I am tired of wandering “lost and confused”. I am finally ready to lay it all down before God, and allow Him to break me. Mold me. Make me who He created me to be. I’m not fighting against Him anymore. I am ready for His discipline, because I know He disciplines those He loves. (Proverbs 3:12)

Discipline is not just a rebuke, or to be corrected. I need discipline in order to manage my home. I need the discipline of self-control in my eating habits. I need discipline to memorize scripture and to work on my Bible studies…

My sweet friend Stephanie also challenged me to join her in Scripture memory. In 2013 she focused on memorizing the Sermon on the Mount! I’ve been wanting to work on memorizing scripture, so I fell in love with this idea and the method she used for doing it. So I looked to see what all memorization projects Ann Voskamp had on her blog and asked my husband if he would join me. We looked over the options together, and decided we want to tackle Romans this year.

We are making our booklets, and beginning our scripture memorization journey TONIGHT!

Romans Project 3

Romans Project

Romans Project 2

If you read this, and then see us, please ask us how we are doing. Ask us to tell you what we have learned. Help hold us accountable. We need it! We need all the accountability and encouragement we can get.

So what about you? What does God have in store for you this year? Have you considered naming your year? There are lots of blogs about it. One of my favorites can be found here. Also, my “friend” ;) Sara Horn discusses her choice here.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Naming my year – 2014

  1. Pingback: 31 Days to Pray for Your Spouse Challenge | faithfamilyfriendslove

  2. I. Love. This. Post! Yayayqayayayayayyyyyy! Such a cool name and scripture! I love you, dear friend. ♥ P.S. Your blog layout is lovely. HUG.

  3. Hi again, friend. I also chose the Romans Project for this year’s scripture memory. Would you like to be recitation partners? We could Facetime, or Google Hangout. ♥

  4. great post! I like the pictures.
    will comment back – http://www.oldfashionmom.com

  5. Wonderful post! Can’t wait to hear how you’re doing on your memorization! That will take much discipline! :-)

Leave a Reply

The Barnabas Agency

Connect. Communicate.

Christian Mamas Guide

Advice for life ... girlfriend to girlfriend

The Mommypotamus

sharing thoughts about faith, family, friends, love, and life in general.

The Busy Mom

sharing thoughts about faith, family, friends, love, and life in general.

Sara Horn

Author, Speaker, Encourager

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

