faith. family. friends. love.

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

Q and A with Sara Horn + a Book For YOU!!

My Wife Life Banner

As most of you know, I was recently chosen to be on the street team called “My Wife Life” for Sara Horn – to help promote her new book “My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife“. We have been diligently posting about the book on facebook, instagram, twitter, pinterest – it has been a lot of fun! I’ve had the opportunity to read the book, and it is FANTASTIC! (Review coming soon.) Yesterday, August 1, 2013 was the BIG RELEASE! Woo Hoo!!!

Sara chose a few of us to host a Q and A with her on our blogs, and is giving us the opportunity to present ONE lucky ready with a FREE copy of her new book!!

Without further adieu, here is my interview with Sara Horn
Me with Sara at dotMOM

Me with Sara at dotMOM back in February

ME: Thank you Sara for this opportunity! I have to tell you about a conversation I had with a friend when I first told her that I was on the My Wife Life team and was telling her about your new book “My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife” – she immediately said “Woah, wait? You mean like saying ‘Yes, sir. No, sir. I’ll do as you say master’?” I chuckled and told her I would let her borrow the book.

Let’s jump right in, and get started with the “s-word”. It seems the word submission has become another curse word of sorts. Not just with in our culture, but also within the church. The Bible has a lot to say on this topic, why do you think we have come to shun it?

Sara: I don’t think we understand it. I don’t think we’ve taken time to understand it. It’s definitely perceived as a 4-letter word, for many, and I think in part, it’s become that way because as a society and yes, even as a church, we’ve often taken it out of context and applied it with broader strokes than just towards marriage. Dr. Russell Moore gave a great message a few weeks ago at Austin Stone Church that someone shared with me online. He spoke briefly to the fact that so often as a culture, even in church, we see submission as women as being submissive to every man – but that’s not biblical. The only man I’m called to be submissive to is my husband. And yet, we struggle against that, in part I think because we just don’t know what that looks like.

What I learned during my experience, and what I hope women who read the book will see, is that there is more to biblical submission than some weird giving up of rights or agreeing to become some Stepford Wife or robot who does as she’s told and no more. There are two parts to biblical submission – my role, and my husband’s – but I can only be responsible for myself. For my actions. For my attitude. What I discovered was by making just little shifts in those areas of my life,I saw great changes, happy changes, in my marriage.

ME: What prompted you to start this experiment?


Sara:
I think it was really a natural progression from what I learned through my experiment I write about in My So-Called LIfe as a Proverbs 31 Wife – I saw such positive changes in me and our marriage that I wanted more. Biblical submission is something I have avoided like many women to try and apply – thinking it was old fashioned or out of date or just completely undoable in today’s society. My husband felt the same way at first too. But the reality is this phrase “Women, submit to your husbands” is in the Bible and not once but a few times so I don’t think we can ignore it forever. At some point, we have to look at and see how we can apply it.

ME: Did you struggle with God leading you to do this?

Sara: Not so much at the beginning, because I think I’ve learned enough from my past experience to know that when God calls us to something, He’s going to do something awesome, but probably during the year and especially toward the end as I wondered whether I was actually being submissive and whether change was happening. I do believe God worked through this experiment to continue to teach me more about what it means to be a wife after His heart, and the coolest bonus was seeing my husband become more of a leader for our family, in our marriage as well as with our son.

ME: I absolutely love your writing style. In both of your “My So-Called Life…” books you are very personable. You give us a very real, very personal look in to your families’ life – through examples, stories, and some of your history. I really appreciate this. We live in a world where it is so easy to put on a front, yet you chose to be real. Was it difficult for you – or for your family – to be so transparent in your writing?

Sara: Thank you! I hear from a lot of readers that they’re grateful for my being real with them. It doesn’t feel difficult for me to be transparent in my writing because I figured out a long time ago that God uses our stories to encourage and open other peoples hearts towards Him. I don’t know if it’s because I worked for so many years in public relations, always having to put forward the polished and the pristine, or what, but I think it’s important to be real and to let folks know it’s okay if you don’t have it all together, I don’t have it all together, but that’s why we have Jesus and we can give Him our stuff and let Him take it and use it in a way only He could.
I will say this book was a little more difficult when it came to transparency, simply because it wasn’t just about Cliff and I (and my husband has always been pretty open as I have, and anything little he’s been uncomfortable with, I’ve never put in print) but this book also included his family and my mom, and so I felt with some things I walked a very fine line of what I could share, and what I needed to keep out, just out of respect for their privacy. I stressed over those sections quite a bit actually, and I did leave some things out, even though those scenes would have shown some great examples of Cliff learning how to lead for our family. At the end of the day, family has to come before a book, but I’m happy to say that everyone read and signed off on the manuscript before it went to print and I’m still welcomed at Thanksgiving this year. :)


ME:
Thank you, again, for allowing me to ask a few questions, and for taking the time to answer them. In closing, can you tell us what is in store for you? Any upcoming books or speaking events you would like us to know about?

Sara: I would definitely appreciate your prayers for me this fall. Though I am trying to cut back on my speaking events this year since my husband is away for his third deployment, I will be traveling to Germany with my good friend Shauna from Wives of Faith to share with military wives at Bible teacher Jill Brisco’s Growth Points Conference for Women in Stuttgart. We’ll also be taking a little hop over to England, just outside London, to share with some military wives there. And there are new books in the works, but I’ll have to wait to share once we have all the details finalized. :)
Thank you so much Amanda for letting me visit with you and your readers! Please come by and say hi at sarahorn.com or at my FB page (facebook.com/sarahornwrites) or on Twitter (@sarahorn).

The Give Away!!
Sara is offering ONE of my fabulous readers a chance to win a copy of her new book!!
Click to order a copy of this great book!

Click to order a copy of this great book!

There are 4 ways to enter:

1) Leave a comment telling me how long you have been married, and what you hope to learn from this book. (Not married? Just answer the question ;) )
2) Share this blog on Facebook, then leave a comment here saying that you did!
3) Leave a comment saying who told you about this blog – you and your friend both get a chance to win!
4) Subscribe to my blog, and leave a comment here saying that you did.

It’s that easy!! Good luck!! Winner will be posted here on MONDAY, AUGUST 5, 2013 by 10:00 am CST.

WINNER***WINNER***WINNER!!!

Random winner (chosen by random number generator at random.org) was Charlotte McCarthy! Congratulations!!!

Don’t forget, you can purchase “My So-Called Life as a Submissive Wife” through www.sarahorn.com or from your favorite retail bookstore (Barnes and Nobel, Amazon, Mardel, LifeWay, Family Christian Bookstores….)

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Q and A with Sara Horn + a Book For YOU!!

  1. Great questions and answers. Sara’s honesty is definitely something I appreciate about her writing!

  2. Awesome Q&A! I’ve so enjoyed being with you – and everyone :) on the mywifelife team! Shared on my blog and personal FB pages! Love your blog!

  3. Great Q&A, honey! I just love reading your blog!

  4. Great Q&A! I always enjoy reading your blog. Keep up the great work!

  5. Judy Hernandez on said:

    Great post on your blog Amanda! I am so proud of you, Sarah Horn and other women that let your lives be a beacon to draw other women (and men) to Jesus and His word. So many people are afraid to become Christians because they know they can’t be perfect. By keeping it real you show that none of us is perfect and that is why Jesus is perfect for us. He loves us unconditionally :)

  6. Shared on my F/B page. Thanks or doing this, I’m pretty interested to see what she has to say in the book!

  7. Charlotte McCarthy on said:

    Thank you Amanda for sharing your experience with your blog readers. This sounds like a wonderful book. I have been married 1 year this September 2nd. I thought that I would make a Great wife this time because at my last church I attended the “Godly wife” class (just in case I ever got married again). It was a very good class and I learned a lot and was blessed to be a part of it. However, it was a long time ago and I wasn’t married. So, trying to put into practice what I learned hasn’t been as easy as I once thought it would be. I would love to read this book, I believe I would learn even more of what I need to really be a Godly wife and I’m sure it would be the inspiration that I need to become what my husband deserves.
    Again, thanks for letting us share a portion of your life and for being an inspirational wife, mother and daughter.

  8. Jamie Francisco on said:

    I have been married for eight years. I have been a stay at home mom, then last year when my daughter went to Kindergarten I went back to work. My husband and I realized that me working took too much time away from our home and family. I am very excited to read this book and am hoping to strengthen my marriage. Also shared this on Facebook!

  9. Great questions! Love (maybe a tad jealous) that you have a photo with her!

  10. Tina McNamara on said:

    I’ll be married for 31 years in November. I’m hoping to learn to become more the kind of wife that God wants me to be. Thanks.

  11. Emily Connor on said:

    I’ve been married 5 years and with my husband for a total of 13 years. I hope to learn from this book a different way to communicate with my husband and to also learn some new things about myself.

  12. I love that Sara is so real in her writing! I love when I can read a book and smile and laugh :) Thanks Sara for being so real with us!

  13. Hey friend! I’ve been married 14 years and am interested in reading the book. Who doesn’t need a little lesson in submission?? ;)

  14. Elisha Rivera on said:

    Wow! This would be a good fit for my life right about now. My husband and I have been married for five years and we have two children. Emmaleigh is three and Luke is four months old I can’t wait to read this book — so my family can be strengthened and my marriage. I absolutely want to do what my Lord wants me to as a wife and a mommy! #excited

Leave a Reply

The Barnabas Agency

Connect. Communicate.

The Mommypotamus

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

The Busy Mom

Keeping it real, so that you know you are not alone.

MomLife Today

EVERY MOMent COUNTS!

Daily Walking

Walking with Him, just for the pleasure of it. Learning as I go.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

